13 Students Recognized as AP Scholars and 2 Students Commended by NMSP

Oak Knoll is proud to announce that eight Upper School students were recognized as AP Scholars, four as AP Scholars with Honor, one as AP Scholar with Distinction, and two as Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The AP Scholar designation is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams, and AP Scholar with Honor to students who achieved an average score of 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of three or higher on four or more of these exams. AP Scholars with Distinction are those with average scores of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. Students qualify as Commended Students by taking the PSAT/NMSQT test in the junior year and then scoring in the top 2-3% of all test takers.

“These awards showcase a commitment to continuous learning and the pursuit of excellence in one’s academic studies,” explained Upper School Division Head Kate McGroarty. “Receiving these awards signifies a high level of academic achievement and dedication to challenging coursework and showcases a student’s commitment to a rigorous education path. These awards can open doors to exciting academic opportunities and scholarships.”

In a general home room this week, Director of College Counseling Jennifer Wilson announced the names of the AP Scholars and Associate Director of College Counseling Meghan Hyland presented Oak Knoll’s two Commended Students with their letter of commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Students recognized include:

AP Scholar:

  • Carson Didden ’24 of Morristown
  • Lucy Duttenhofer ’24 of Summit
  • Abigail Flood ’24 of Glen Ridge
  • Maren Hux ’24 of Madison
  • Catherine Jordan ’24 of Chatham
  • Claire Lezynski ’24 of Westfield
  • Kiley Reape ’24 of Morristown
  • Lucia Sylva ’24 of Morristown

AP Scholar with Honor:

  • Aleena Ahmed ’24 of New Vernon
  • Eve Carbeau ’24 of Morristown
  • Nesa Shamdasani ’24 of Little Falls
  • Rory Weldon ’24 of Summit

AP Scholar with Distinction:

  • Danielle Delano ’24 of Summit

National Merit Scholarship Commended Students

  • Danielle Delano ’24 of Summit
  • Rory Weldon ’24 of Summit

Congratulations to these students for achieving these high academic honors and to all Oak Knoll students who strive each day to be the best they can be!